Lame-a-thology for dummies


Will mussels bring muscles?
June 4, 2007, 10:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I ended up paying RM49.00 for some mussels dish today. Meant to be my flat’s post-exam celebration dinner. It wasn’t too bad la, but I wouldn’t trade mussels for my Malaysian si ham, when added with the char keow teow…………..fuhh i tell you, the taste is superb. It taste even better if eaten in Kampar market coz u pay something like RM2.20 only.

Then came the painful part as we were eating dinner. Here was Anil, all concerned about having mussels and its high cholestrol and its impact on my already excessive body weight. And beside me were two girls, whose combined weight would not even equal to my body weight in whole, whacking one kilo of mussels each as if mussels were getting extinct the very next day. After whacking that 1 kilo ah, one of them said she wants to go home and have rice, and the other said that she was not really full.

And poor Anil, ordered half a kilo of mussels, ate it with great care, pondering which part of my belly would accomodate this excess food, which my body suggests I do not need. Why is it so unfair? I always have friends wating more than me and they never grow! I grow, and grow side-ways. Non-stop from day one till now.

I watched as they finished their 1 kilo of mussels. I was still a bit hungry and I contemplated having another bun. After much thought, I called for the waiter and made that guilty confession of my need for a bread. And I got my bread…………..and the waiter said that I can have it for free!!!! Fuhh, I tell you, the feeling of getting anything free in England is just inexplainable. Then in pure asian culture, steep with its tradition of kiasuism, my friend also requested for another bread. Value for money mah. The waiter just smiled.

It was the end of yet another dinner. Content with the free bread and a filled stomach, we journeyed up Grey’s Street in Newcastle. Then I did my trademark ‘pull my pants up’ thing and whispered in my heart……my mussles will turn muscles someday. Im sure it will.

Sealed with lameness and exaggeration,

Anil.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment