Lame-a-thology for dummies


Malaysia Bo-lah
July 15, 2007, 2:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I dont know what made me watch Malaysia’s game with Uzbekistan on Saturday night over RTM 1 online.  Maybe it was sheer joblnessness, and maybe coz my beloved Chinese housemate kept cursing how Malaysia could go down 5 goals to what he calls a ‘terrible Chinese team’. Neverthless, there I was, sitting in front of my comp, (only the second half luckliy) listening to Hasbullah Awang and this other ‘I’m trying my best to be a football expert’ commentator. The two commentators lack of professionalism itself was bad enough to turn off any football fan. But Anil being Anil, tried to find some pleasure in everything. I kind of enjoyed listening to the Malay commentary after some time. Some common catch phrase for the Malaysian team were:

“Ahhh………..tak lepas” (ie player lost the ball)

“Sekali lagi tak lepas” (ie player lost ball again)

“Thiru kepada Indra……………Indra lari disitu dengan bola……Nampaknya bersemangat pasukan Malaysia di separuh masa kedua ini (mnd u by this time, Malaysia was losing 0-3) Indra terus lari………….Di berikan kepada Hairrudin (commentator raises voice in excitement)…………….Ah! Sayang di situ nampaknya…………Pemain dari Uzbekistan nombor 14 Arif begitu cepat sahaja melakukan closing down setiap kali Malaysia mara ke hadapan (still refusing to blame our lack of skill)…….oh tidak nombor 14 tadi Hassan……(the normal Malaysian commentator’s mistake)”

To be honest with you, Malaysia had a good spell for about 20 minutes in the second half. Probably they knew that I was watching and that inspired them…….ahem. But then the goal-gates opened again la. We (I mean in referece to my parent’s country) ended the match 5-0.  And I felt so stupid watching my parent’s country being humiliated, wasted my 45 minutes. Also felt sorry for that little boy they kept focusing in the stadium carying the Malaysian flag cheering on his team. He should be given a refund!

Whilst watching the game, I thought to myself. With all the hype of football in Malaysia, we could not even produce a team in the last 20 years, to effectively challange for glory even in South East Asia. The best Malaysian player on the pitch last night were two Indians, ie Thirumurugan and centre-back Nanthakumar. And mind you, there were no Ah Chongs or Ah Dongs on the pitch. Why? Is the best man getting the job? Is there not even one Ah Chong in Malaysia fit to wear the Malaysian shirt? And who’s that coach when we have Shebby Singh week in week out criticising Arsene Wenger and Rafa Benitez week in week out (mind you, Shebby wouldn’t dare criticise Ferguson).

Own up Malaysia. Till you practice true meritrocracy, you are going to continue being in the doldrums. For now, I just give thanks that my team (ie Man Utd) never made it to Malaysia on our pre-season tour. Can you imagine how many Ronaldo, Rooney, Anderson,Nani, Giggs, Scholes, and maybe Tevez would have scored against Malaysia? Fuhh………… I wouldn’t want to imagine. Hence the title…..Malaysia Bo-lah. (Bo in Hokkien is none or finished I think)


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment